Tuesday, 31 March 2015

NBC Releases List of Media Stations that Breached Broadcasting Code

The National Broadcasting Commission (NBC) on Monday released the list of broadcasting stations who has failed to comply with the provisions of the Nigeria Broadcasting code from the beginning of electioneering campaign to date.

A statement signed by the commission’s Director/Head, Public Affairs, Alhaji Awwalu Salihu, in Abuja, said the disputes included breaches of the rules on the broadcast of sponsored campaign materials. Other breaches were the airing of campaign materials or programmes that promoted political parties or candidates within the 24-hour prohibited period, as well as unauthorised networking by some stations within the country. We have details of the stations after the  cut...

The statement said that NTA breached the sensibilities rules while AIT and NTA both breached the rules on airing sponsored materials.

According to the statement, Rima Radio, Sokoto and BSES, Ekiti defaulted on denial of access.

They further said that 15 stations nationwide breached the code for advertising and promoting a political party after campaigns had stopped 24 hours to election time.

The stations included Liberty TV, Liberty FM, Karama FM, Alheri FM, NTA, AIT, Rima Radio, STV Lagos, TVC Lagos, NTV, PRTV, Jos, NTA Makurdi, Vision FM and Nigeria Info,

Others were BECOS TV, NTA Jos, Gombe Media Corporation Radio FM, OSBC TV and Freedom TV Ilesha.

According to the statement, all the stations involved had been either queried or outrightly sanctioned, according to the provisions of the Nigerian Broadcasting code.


Enjoy loads of other recent stories from this blog.. do visit our HOME page!

No comments:

Post a Comment

“Commenting is an act of Concern & Impact to others.”
Do leave a comment today...

If you need to contact Duisaf
News/Tip Off/Advert
BBM- 7977758c

Trending Stories


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...